Upper Body Injury


The Rotator Cuff consists of a group of muscles namely, Supraspinatus, Infraspinatus, Sub-scapularis, and the Teres minor. These muscles form a cuff around the head of the humerus articulating it to the scapula. The cuff is, therefore, responsible for the rotation of the shoulder joint. A rotator cuff injury may occur to any of the four muscles comprising the cuff. It is, however, rare for all the muscles to be injured simultaneously. The supraspinatus tendon is the most vulnerable to injury. This is due to repeated compression against the underside of the acrimony process. The compression facilitates tissue degeneration of the tendon eventually resulting to tearing of the muscle fibers (Lowe, 2009).
Let's make that grade!